ELEAGUE to host the next Major in Boston

ELEAGUE to host the next Major in Boston

ELEAGUE announced that they will host the next CS:GO Major. The Main Event will be played live at Agganis Arena in Boston from January 26 to 28.

The first ELEAGUE Major in Atlanta has been a great success, therefore it is no surprise that Valve entrusted them with a second one. This is the 12th Major in the entire history of CS:GO.

The qualifier and the group stage will take place at ELEAGUE Arena in Atlanta, while for the playoffs the competition will move at Boston University’s Agganis Arena.

  • Major Qualifier: January 12-15

  • Group Stage: January 19-22

  • Playoffs: January 26-28

As usual, eight Legends and eight Challengers will fight for the title of champion and a share of $1,000,000 prize pool.

Legend teams

  • Gambit Esports

  • Immortals

  • Astralis

  • Virtus.pro

  • Fnatic

  • SK Gaming

  • BIG

  • North

Immortals are listed among the Legends, but due to the recent changes in the roster, they could lose the invite. It is required to participate with at least 3/5 of the lineup that competed at the previous Major, PGL Krakow 2017.

Challenger teams

  • Cloud9

  • FlipSid3 Tactics

  • G2 Esports

  • Natus Vincere

  • mousesports

  • Seed (former PENTA)

  • FaZe Clan

  • Vega Squadron

The bottom eight teams of the previous major will fight in the Major qualifier against eight more teams determined by the Minors - two for each region.

PENTA disbanded recently, but three of the original members are still together under the name Seed - they retain the challenger spot.


  • Asia - October 26-29 - Seoul

  • CIS - October 26-29 - Bucharest

  • Europe - November 2-5 - Bucharest

  • Americas - November 2-5 - Toronto

Details on the online qualifiers are available here.

The event will be broadcasted on Twitch, ELEAGUE, and YouTube.


Header Image: ELEAGUE

Vincenzo is an esports writer with five years of experience. Former head editor for Natus Vincere, he has produced content for DreamHack, FACEIT, DOTAFire, 2P, and more. Follow him on Twitter and Facebook.